Head of the Delegation

Political party: Homeland Union-Lithuanian Christian Democrat Party
Country: Lithuania
Chamber: Seimas
Address: c/o Ms Snieguole ZIUKAITE International Relations Department Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania 53 Gediminas Ave. LT- 01109 Vilnius LITHUANIA
At the Assembly since:
Committee(s) and Sub-Committee(s): CDS,PC,SC,UNIC
Official website:


A Signatory to the Act of Lithuanian Independence of March 11, 1990, Rasa Jukneviciene was elected to the Supreme Council – Reconstituent Seimas during Lithuania's first free election. Between 1992 and 1996, she served as Spokesperson for the Seimas Opposition and Desk Officer of the Homeland Union (Lithuanian Conservatives) Political Group. A member of the Seimas since 1996, Ms Jukneviciene held the position of Deputy Speaker in 1999-2000. In the current legislature, she serves as Deputy Chair of the Committee on National Security and Defence. Ms Jukneviciene joined the NATO Parliamentary Assembly in 1999, and served as Rapporteur of the Sub-Committee on NATO Partnerships in 2007-2008 before being elected as a Vice-President of the Assembly in 2008. That same year, she was called to serve as Minister of National Defence in the Lithuanian government, a position she held until 2012. Having rejoined the NATO PA in 2013, she currently chairs the Seimas delegation to the NATO PA, serves as General Rapporteur of the Political Committee and was again elected Vice-President of the Assembly in November 2016. Rasa Jukneviciene is a graduate of the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences. She has been a member of the Advisory Council of the Center for European Policy Analysis since 2014, and is an Honorary Doctor of Political Sciences at the Hankuk University of Foreign Studies of the Republic of Korea. Ms Jukneviciene is a recipient of the following prestigious awards: Cross of Commander of the Order of the Lithuanian Grand Duke Gediminas on the occasion of Lithuania’s accession to the EU (2004); Royal Order of Merit with Commander’s Star of the Kingdom of Norway (1998); Badge for Merits to the Riflemen’s Union (2008); Medal for Merits by the Ministry of National Defence; Badge for personal service to the course of Lithuania’s transatlantic integration awarded on the occasion of Lithuania’s invitation to join NATO (2002); Commemorative Medal “10th Anniversary of Independence of Ukraine” by the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine (2001); and Medal for merits to the restoration and establishment of the independent state of Lithuania in 1990–2000 awarded in commemoration of the 10th Anniversary of Lithuania’s Independence (2000).